Was LeBron James' game-saving block actually goaltending? | The Tylt

Was LeBron James' game-saving block actually goaltending?

LeBron James added to his legend, making a game-saving block and a game-winning shot to put the Cleveland Cavaliers ahead of the Indiana Pacers 3-2. That block is a subject of controversy though. Many feel Victor Oladipo got the ball to the backboard before James got the block, making it a goaltend rather than a block. Still, many people feel the ball was mostly below the rim when James blocked the shot. Plus, if the referees didn't call it, it's a block. What do you think? 🏀

FINAL RESULTS
Sports
Was LeBron James' game-saving block actually goaltending?
A festive crown for the winner
#BronGoaltend
#BronBlock
Dataviz
Real-time Voting
Was LeBron James' game-saving block actually goaltending?
#BronGoaltend
#BronBlock

With about five seconds to go, LeBron James made a game-saving block on a Victor Oladipo layup attempt that would have put the Pacers up by two in the final seconds of Game 5. 

The Cavaliers rode the momentum of the home crowd after the block, climaxing when James hit a game-winning three-pointer to give Cleveland a 3-2 lead in the series. Should that block have been called a goaltend?

#BronGoaltend

LeBron James likes to say he gets refereed differently, and he's right about that. He gets so many calls in his favor. That "block" on Oladipo was an obvious goaltend that should've been called. The replays show the ball clearly bouncing off the backboard, making it illegal for a defender to touch, whether it's going upward or downward. 

Having that layup count would have changed the game's momentum, including the crowd energy and the defense the Pacers would have put on the floor. That blown call altered the entire landscape of the series. That should've been called a goaltend.

#BronBlock

Yes! Bathe in your salty tears, Pacers fans. It won't do you any good. LeBron James blocked Oladipo and there's nothing you can do about it. It wasn't a goaltend.

The ball bounced off the backboard below the rim, meaning James could have still touched the ball. It could be argued the referees determined that the ball was below the rim enough to where they wouldn't make the goaltending call. Even if they did call it, it wouldn't have mattered because James made a three-pointer that would've won the game anyway. Time to move on, Pacers Fans. That was a block.

FINAL RESULTS
Sports
Was LeBron James' game-saving block actually goaltending?
A festive crown for the winner
#BronGoaltend
#BronBlock