Is honey vegan? | The Tylt

Dataviz
Real-time Voting
Is honey vegan?
#HoneyIsVegan
#HoneyIsNotVegan
#HoneyIsNotVegan

For some vegans, this comes down to one things: bees are animals. If the bees make the honey, the honey itself is an animal byproduct, making it off-limits. Plus, taking the bees' honey is exploitive.

According to Your Daily Vegan

Vegans avoid honey and bee products because bees make them. This avoidance makes sense. Vegans avoid animal products, and a bee is an animal.
#HoneyIsVegan

Others argue that if the reason to abstain from honey is the exploitation of bees or accidental bee deaths that occur during the honey-collection process, then there are many more foods vegans should eliminate from their diets. According to ThoughtCo's Doris Lin: 

There are, however, some self-described vegans who do eat honey and argue that insects are killed in other types of agriculture, so they are reluctant to draw the line at honey. Pure vegans point out the line between intentional exploitation and incidental killings, and beekeeping falls into the former category. 
#HoneyIsNotVegan

Beekeepers are also known to clip the queen bee's wings in order to control bee populations. Some vegans see this practice as inhumane.

#HoneyIsVegan

But some vegans worry that by eliminating honey from their diet, the vegan movement will seem too extreme to the masses, preventing potential newcomers from joining the ethics-based diet. 

ThoughtCo's Lin looks to Michael Greger, M.D, one of the leaders of the animal rights movement, for insight: 

He's also concerned that over-zealous vegans will turn off a lot of potential new vegans because it makes our movement look radical if even bees (bugs) are considered sacred. 
FINAL RESULTS
Culture
Is honey vegan?
#HoneyIsVegan
A festive crown for the winner
#HoneyIsNotVegan